Jamey’s B-day Card

Jamey's Bday Card

This is a birthday card I made for my brother Jamey.  For me, it requires a little more thought to make a masculine card.

I started with the chip-board element that says brother in the middle.  Both the chipboard element and the brown, cotton, trim on the left side, are from Hobby Lobby, Paper Studio.  I used a Martha Stewart, border punch on the edge.  The background paper was given to me by my sister at http://www.miniwonderfulthings.com and neither one of us can remember where it came from, sorry.  

The two leather straps are pieces cut out of thin cardboard.  The die used for the straps is a Tim Holtz die.  I distressed the pieces with brilliant gold, then Tim Holtz, walnut stain, distress ink pads.  Followed by espresso, ink pad.  I then swirled in some glossy accents to give it an old shiny, worn, leather look.

The buttons are from Hobby Lobby, Vintaj.  I distressed the buttons with espresso, ink pad.  I distressed the chip board element and all around the edges with espresso, ink pad as well.  The hanging key is from Tim Holtz.  I cut the prongs off of the 4 brads on the straps and glued them down with E6000.  The key is tied with some soft, hemp cord also given to me by my sister.  The cardstock behind the face of the card is a medium grey, textured, cardstock.

All said and done I really like the way this card turned out.  So much fun.  Now, let’s see what my brother thinks.  Thanks for stopping by.  Let me know what you think.  🙂

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jamey’s B-day Card

  1. Denise says:

    I love this card, Megan. It is so masculine! I’m sure the old guy will love it, too!

  2. *lol* He sure better Denise. Thanks! 🙂

  3. Wow!! This looks fantastic! It is a good thing you described how you did the leather straps. You should copy all that info and send it with the card. Jamey would never guess the artistic effort that went into making this card….

  4. I will direct him to come read it here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

